2017 Competition results

Congratulations to everyone who won an award at the 2017 Schools' Competition, which took place on Wednesday 28 June 2017 at Anglia Ruskin University.

We are very pleased to announce that the winners are as follows:

CSES Engineering Project of the Year Award

Daniel Carter, Ethan Willmer-Anderson, Joseph Twigg & Thorfinn Laagus, King Edward VI Grammar School 

CSES Design Execution Award (Years 12-13)

Annabelle Martin-Smith, Plume School 
Compact Camping Storage

CSES Design Execution Award (Years 10-11)

Chanice Belshaw, Chelmer Valley High School 
Feature desk lamp #1

CSES Design Execution Award (Years 7-9)

Alex Edward Jones, Arvind Alapati, Ben Bishop, Nimalan Ganesh, Raiyan Jawad, Shyaam Dylan Balasegaram & Yash Kutty, King Edward VI Grammar School 
First LEGO League 2017 project

CSES Technical Design Award (Years 12-13)

Veer Patel, Tendring Technology College 
Vision Aid

CSES Technical Design Award (Years 10-11)

Sai Bolla, Colchester Royal Grammar School 
Portable Sound System

Keavy Hopkins, Beauchamps High School 
Futurism Inspired Lamp

CSES Technical Design Award (Years 7-9)

Bailey Southern, Louie Fennell, Oliver Williamson & Tom White, Tendring Technology College 
Robot Triathlon

CSES Concept Design Award (Years 12-13)

Fawn Brinkley, Plume School 
Compact Designer Lighting

CSES Concept Design Award (Years 10-11)

Kayley Haselden, Beauchamps High School 
Art Nouveau design movement Inspired lamp

CSES Concept Design Award (Years 7-9)

Abbie Pruden & Alfie Benson, Harwich and Dovercourt High School 
Raspberry Pi Smart Mirror

CSES STEM Club Award, sponsored by Essex Community Foundation

Christopher Adkins, Daniel Massey, Maya Hahn & Tom Sharman, Frinton-on-Sea Primary School 
Club Showcase (Primary Year 5)

Lucy Pettet Innovation Award, sponsored by Leonardo

Helen Matthews & Phoebe Bruce, Felsted Preparatory School 
Potato Plastics

Anglia Ruskin University Award

Abigail Thornton, Kiera Nash, Nell Maciegi, Sophie Tyrie, Tessa Kershaw & Zara Draper, Felsted Preparatory School 
A world of pure imagination - or reality?

CSES Students' Choice Award

Jack Deighton, Plume School 
Compact Furniture

CSES Students' Choice Award (runner-up)

Ethan Brown, Tendring Technology College 
Multi functional Design Table - The creative hub

Keavy Hopkins, Beauchamps High School 
Futurism Inspired Lamp

Highly Commended

George Harvey, Felsted Upper School 
An orrery to explain solar system formation

Adam Lough, Ben Mawhood, Dan Fletcher, Toby Palmer & Will McGough, Maltings Academy 
Weather Balloon

Jack O'Neil, Chelmer Valley High School 
Combined guitar case and stand

Joshua Simpson, Chelmer Valley High School 
Fan assisted shelving unit

Clara Thompson, Dinali Jayasuriya, Nadine Martine, Olivia Parish & Rupashri Chatterjee, Westcliff High School for Girls 
Recycling Robot

Correy Andrews, Thurstable School & Sixth Form Centre 
Extended Project Qualification

Ross Tomlinson, Beauchamps High School 
Steam punk Inspired Lamp


We commend these results to the Council.

For and on behalf of the Judges and Organising Committee of the 2017 CSES Schools' Competition,

Adam Wood, Schools' Competition Chair

Print Email