2016 Competition results

Congratulations to everyone who won an award at the 2016 Schools' Competition, which took place on Friday 1 July 2016 at Anglia Ruskin University.

We are very pleased to announce that the winners are as follows:

CSES Engineering Project of the Year Award

James Nightingale, Colchester Royal Grammar School
Electric Drift Trike

CSES Design Execution Award (Years 12-13)

Jack Wells, St. Martin's School
Model Garden Pod

CSES Design Execution Award (Years 10-11)

Matthew Oakes, Colchester Royal Grammar School
Customised, amplified

CSES Design Execution Award (Years 7-9)

Abigail Nowels, Eddie Spence, Harry Stock, Imogen Wilde, Isobel Banks, Kieran Ibbotson, Sophia Bourne, Thomas Colsell & Nathan Banks, The Gilberd School
Bear Feeder Project

CSES Technical Design Award (Years 12-13)

Marcus Nisbet, Chelmer Valley High School
Stabilised 3rd Person GoPro Mount

CSES Technical Design Award (Years 7-9)

Elizabeth Oyemike, Luckmea Raxaparanan, Mounika Korlapati & Shiloh Kuchipudi, Westcliff High School for Girls
Electronic medicine dispenser

CSES Concept Design Award (Years 12-13)

Ben Boxer, Colchester Royal Grammar School
Integrated Bicycle Lock

CSES Concept Design Award (Years 7-9)

Henry Spooner & Toby Tweed, Tendring Technology College
Lap Counter

CSES STEM Club Award, sponsored by Essex Community Foundation

Joshua Martin, Kieran Walter & Sam Usher, Greensward Academy
HEP Generator

Lucy Pettet Innovation Award, sponsored by Leonardo

Lee Rome, St. Martin's School
Football launching machine

Anglia Ruskin University Award

Nicola Duignan, Chelmer Valley High School
Multi-Purpose Furniture Unit (The Armadillo)

CSES Students' Choice Award

Eisa Anwar, Westcliff High School for Boys
Smart Glasses

CSES Students' Choice Award (runner-up)

Marcus Nisbet, Chelmer Valley High School
Stabilised 3rd Person GoPro Mount

Highly Commended

George Davies, Joe Hacker & Julius Carter, Mayflower High School
Bloodhound Rocket Car Challenge

James Edmunds, The King Edmund School Rochford
Outdoor Cinema

Edward Philpot, Henry Spooner, Toby Tweed & Tom Philpot, Tendring Technology College
Eco Car

Eisa Anwar, Westcliff High School for Boys
Smart Glasses

Luke Nichols, St. Martin's School
Portable Artist's Stool

Jonathan Barnes, King Edward VI Grammar School
Adjustable Piano Stool

Athulyaah Varatheeswaran, Erin Tuttlebee, Gabrielle Adedeji & Shiwanikga Mohan, Westcliff High School for Girls
Disability assistance electronic walking stick


We commend these results to the Council.

For and on behalf of the Judges and Organising Committee of the 2016 CSES Schools' Competition,

Adam Wood, Schools' Competition Chair

Print Email